تابعونا عبر

Share this page:

لقد وقع الاختيار على الفنانة زهرة الغامدي لإقامة معرضها "بعد توّهم"، وهو عمل فني قائم على التركيب المكاني باستخدام المواد الطبيعية ومستوحى من شعور الفنانة بالوطن، في الجناح الوطني السعودي، بينالي البندقية، المعرض الفني الدولي الثامن والخمسين.

يواكب معرض "بعد توّهم" إلى حدٍ كبيرٍ الفكرة العامة لمعرض بينالي May you live in interesting times (عسى أن تتسنى لكم الحياة في عصورٍ ذات تأثيرٍ). وكلمة Interesting (ذات تأثيرٍ) كلمة مبهمة عمداً وتحمل معانٍ مترادفة. تبادر الفنانة المبدعة زهرة الغامدي في معرضها "بعد توّهم" إلى تأمل قيمة "الريبة". سعياً منها لاستكشاف التناقض بين الجديد، والمألوف في الوقت نفسه، وبين الوهم والحقيقة. وتدعونا في أعمالها إلى تحرير أنفسنا من الالتزامات التي تنبثق نتيجة اتخاذ موقفٍ نهائيٍ لا رجعة فيه، وإلى اكتشاف آفاقٍ جديدةٍ تجاه إدراك الذات والتحول.

After-Illusion-Website-Exhibition-Header-Web-2.jpg#asset:2468


وكما تقول إيمان الجبرين، مقيم المعرض:

"لطالما عايش السعوديون عصوراً ذات تأثيرٍ، ولطالما نُظر إليهم، مثلهم مثل شعوبٍ أخرى، بفعل طبيعة تاريخهم الاجتماعي الثقافي المعقد على أنهم ذوو تأثيرٍ. إلا أن شعوراً يسود اليوم بفقدان تأثيرهم الثقافي والتاريخي الخاص في ظل هيمنة الخطاب العالمي. إذ اُختصرَ تاريخهم في بوتقة حدثين تاريخيين لا غير، ألا وهما ظهور الإسلام واكتشاف النفط، ما تركهم في حيرة من أمرهم إزاء النظر إلى تاريخهم خارج نطاق هذين الحدثين لا سيما مع غياب الأدلة المرئية."

يشير عنوان معرض "بعد توّهم" إلى شطرٍ مقتبسٍ من قصيدة عربية قديمة للشاعر زهير بن أبي سُلمى (520 م - 609 م) يصف فيها الشاعر صعوبة التعرف على موطنه بعد غياب دام عشرين عاماً. وحده التوّهم ساعد الشاعر، بعد أن بلغ من العمر عتياً، في التعرف على موطنه - وهي حالة ذهنية نراها تخفي الحقيقية ولكنها في الواقع تمهد الطريق إليها.

نبذة عن العمل الفني

تبتغي زهرة الغامدي أن يكون معرضها "بعد توّهم" خطوةً صوب عالم خيالي. تنبعث الحياة في الأجسام الجلدية اليدوية التي يبلغ عددها 50,000 لتبدو وكأنها مخلوقات حيةٌ تتوهج وتهتزّ وتتحرك مع حضور الزوّار. وتدعوهم إلى التعرّف إلى بوادر الإحساس المقترن باكتشاف شيء جديد ومألوف في الوقت نفسه وإعادة الارتباط بذلك الإحساس والعودة إليه.

يستمد معرض "بعد توّهم" عناصره المهمة من الثقافة السعودية ويستحضر إحساس الفنانة بموطنها، ويتجلّى كذلك في الطابع المحسوس للجلود والرمال والأحجار التي تشكل التركيب المكاني والمخلوقات ونشأة كلٍ من الفنانة ومنسقة المعرض. ويذهب هذا العمل الفني أبعد من المألوف وأبعد من الأفكار السطحية المأخوذة عن المملكة العربية السعودية في بعض الأحيان. ويعتمد على التاريخ والشعر السعوديين المحكيين ليبرز إلى جمهور معاصر مجسداً تاريخ المملكة العريق وهويتها الخاصة.


تقول مقيم المعرض إيمان الجبرين:

"تجسد الفنانة زهرة الغامدي الخيار الأمثل لبناء حيزٍ يمكن تصوره لتحويل الخوف إلى فضول ولاستكشاف المجهول عوضاً من محاربته. فهي فنانة معاصرة صاعدة بقوة، تتحدى تجربتها الفريدة التي تركز على الطابع المادي المشهدَ المعاصر المهيمن للفن السعودي في الوقت الحاضر.

وقد أظهر مسار عملها مقدرتها على التحول إلى الأشياء والعناصر الجديدة التي تتصورها تجسيداً لمكان ميلادها القديم الذي أضحى اليوم أطلالاً. لتعود إلى استخدام هذه العناصر بعدئذ لإنشاء حيز غامض ورائع بالقدر نفسه حيث يمكن للمرء أن يعاود العيش في موطنه الذي ألفه وأن يعيد تصوره، وهو حيز يتشكّل في صورة جديدة مع كل مرة."

Screen-Shot-2019-03-10-at-11.01.13-AM.png#asset:2477



نبذة عن الفريق

يتألف الفريق الفني والتنسيقي لمعرض "بعد توّهم" من ثلاث سيداتٍ بارزاتٍ: الفنانة الشهيرة زهرة الغامدي ومستشارة المشروع ندى شبوط ومقيم المعرض إيمان الجبرين.

Project Advisor Nada Shabout
ندى شبوط

مستشارة مشروع معرض "بعد توّهم". تحظى ندى باحترام كبير في مجال عملها وتقدم وجهة نظرها الفريدة وخبرتها الأكاديمية العريضة للمعرض اعتماداً على معرفتها بالفن العربي الحديث والمعاصر.

Curator  Eiman Elgibreen
إيمان الجبرين

مقيم معرض "بعد توّهم"، رؤيتها لكل ما هو غامض وغير متوقع في المعرض متعمّقةً في فهمها للصراعات الثقافية ورغبتها في تعزيز التسامح إزاء الاختلافات الثقافية. تحمل إيمان درجة الدكتوراه في تاريخ الفن السعودي الحديث والمعاصر من جامعة ساسكس متخصصةً في ممارسات الفن النسوي.

Artist Zahrah Al Ghamdi
زهرة الغامدي

تشتهر الفنانة بأعمالها الفنية القائمة على التركيب المكاني واستخدام المواد الطبيعية. وتركز الغامدي، التي تتخذ من مدينة جدة مركزاً لعملها وإقامتها، في أعمالها على ذاكرة العمارة التقليدية في جنوب غرب المملكة العربية السعودية. اختيرت الفنانة زهرة الغامدي لتمثل المملكة في معرض بينالي هذا العام لما تتميز به من فهمٍ عميقٍ ودقيقٍ للثقافة السعودية ولطريقتها التي تنتهجها في توصيل رسالتها الحساسة ولإخلاصها لجذورها السعودية الأصيلة. وتسعى الفنانة في معرضها "بعد توّهم" مستعينةً بأعمالها الفنية في الجناح السعودي إلى نقل الزائر إلى عالم خيالي يمزج بين المألوف والجديد والوهم والحقيقة

تخطيط الزيارة

تقام فعاليات المعرض من 11 مايو حتى 24 نوفمبر.

يقع الجناح السعودي في أرسنال، وينبغي للزوّار الحصول على تذكرة ليتسنى لهم دخول بينالي البندقية والجناح السعودي.

يفتح المعرض أبوابه من الساعة العاشرة صباحاً وحتى السادسة مساءً في أيام الثلاثاء والأحد ويُغلق في أيام الاثنين (ما عدا أيام 13 مايو، و2 سبتمبر، و18 نوفمبر).

نقدم أيضاً برنامجاً مثيراً للاهتمام من الفعاليات يشتمل على حفلة افتتاح ونقاشات وندوات تمتد طوال مدة معرض بينالي حول فكرة "بعد توّهم".


caret-down icon close icon download icon facebook hamburger icon kufic-background-shape icon kufic-edge icon kufic-flush icon logo-ar icon mail icon search icon share icon twitter

Follow Misk on:

Share this page:

Celebrated land artist Zahrah Al-Ghamdi has been selected to exhibit After Illusion, a site-specific installation using natural materials inspired by the artist’s sense of home, at the National Pavilion of Saudi Arabia, Venice Biennale, 58th International Art Exhibition. After Illusion is heavily informed by the overall Biennale theme ‘May you live in interesting times’. ‘Interesting’ is a purposefully vague word, loaded with alternative meanings. In After Illusion Al-Ghamdi meditates on the value of uncertainty. Exploring the dichotomy between something new, but familiar, illusion and truth. Inviting us to free ourselves from the obligations that come from taking a definitive stance, opening new doors to self-awareness and transformation.


After-Illusion-Website-Exhibition-Header-Web-2.jpg#asset:2468


As Eiman Elgibreen, curator of the exhibition, says:

“Saudis have long been living in interesting times. Their complicated sociocultural history has forced them, and others, to be seen as interesting. There is a sense of lost cultural and historical agency due to the hegemony of global discourse. Their significance has been encapsulated within two narrow historical moments: the emergence of Islam and the discovery of oil, leaving them confused on how to perceive their history outside of those moments, particularly with the absence of visual evidence.”

The title After Illusion refers to a line from an ancient Arabic poem written by Zuhayr bin Abī Sūlmā (b.520- d.609) in which the poet describes the struggle to recognise his home after being away for 20 years.Only illusion helps the eighty-year-old recognise it – a state of mind we think obscures the truth, but actually paves the way to it.


About the artwork

Al-Ghamdi wants After Illusion to feel like stepping into an imaginary world. The 50,000 handmade leather spheres come to life around you, glowing, vibrating and moving like creatures, activated by the visitor’s presence. Inviting them to recognise, reconnect, and revisit a feeling of exploring something new but familiar.

From the materiality of the leathers, sand and rocks that form the installation and creatures, to the artist and curator’s own upbringings, After Illusion draws on important elements of Saudi culture and conjure a sense of the artist’s home. The artwork goes beyond the most common, and sometimes surface-level understandings of Saudi Arabia. It draws on Saudi oral history and poetry for a modern audience, reflecting on the country’s rich history and nuanced identity.


Curator Eiman Elgibreen says:

“To construct a conceivable space of turning fear into curiosity, to explore the unknown instead of fighting it, artist Zahrah Al-Ghamdi is the obvious choice. A strongly emerging contemporary artist, her unique experiment with focus on materiality challenges the dominant contemporary scene of Saudi art today.

The trajectory of her work has displayed her abilities to transform into new objects, elements she perceives as an embodiment of her old birthplace that have been mostly now turned into ruins. She would then use them to generate an equally exquisite and enigmatic space where one could relive and reimagine the home she knew, a space that is created anew in every iteration.”


Screen-Shot-2019-03-10-at-11.01.13-AM.png#asset:2477



About the team

The artistic and curatorial team behind After Illusion is made up of three remarkable women: the renowned land artist Zahrah Al-Ghamdi, project advisor Nada Shabout and curator Eiman Elgibreen.


Project Advisor Nada Shabout
Nada Shabout

project advisor of After Illusion. Vastly respected in her field, she brings her unique viewpoint and academic expertise to the exhibit, drawing on her knowledge of modern and contemporary Arab art. She is professor of Art History and Coordinator of the Contemporary Arab and Muslim Studios initiative (CAMCSI) at the University of North Texas.

Curator  Eiman Elgibreen
Eiman Elgibreen

is the curator of After Illusion. She brings her eye for the ambiguous and unexpected to the exhibit, steeped in her understanding of cultural conflicts and promoting tolerance towards cultural differences. She holds a PHD in Modern and Contemporary Saudi Art History from the University of Sussex, specialising in female art practices.

Artist Zahrah Al Ghamdi
Zahrah Al-Ghamdi

celebrated land artist, known for her site-specific installations and use of natural materials. Living and working in Jedda, her work focuses on the memory of traditional architecture from south western Saudi Arabia. Al-Ghamdi was chosen to represent Saudi Arabia at this year’s Biennale because of her deep and nuanced understanding of Saudi culture, the way she conveys a subtle message and is always true to her roots. In After Illusion, her installation in the Saudi Pavilion, she seeks to transport the visitor to imaginary worlds, bridging the familiar and the new, illusion and truth.

Planning your visit

The exhibit runs from 11th May – 24th November.

The Saudi National Pavilion is located in the Arsenale, and visitors need a ticket to enter the Venice Biennale and Saudi National Pavilion.

The exhibit is open 10am-6pm, Tuesdays – Sundays and closed on Mondays (except 13 May, 2 September, 18 November).

We also have an exciting programme of events including after-hours openings, talks and panel discussions around After Illusion through the duration of the Biennale.


caret-down icon close icon download icon facebook hamburger icon kufic-background-shape icon kufic-edge icon kufic-flush icon logo-ar icon mail icon search icon share icon twitter